Irv Merritt Award

Irv Merritt Memorial Award Recipients

Irv Merritt (born F. Irvin Merritt October 25, 1903 – December 1985) was a highly competitive athlete, well into his 80s. He was a regular participant at Masters swimming competitions and also a competitive distance runner. He was a joy to visit with and always had an interest in the people with whom he competed. At the time of his death, Irv´s family established an annual award in his memory to be presented to an Indiana Masters swimmer who exemplified the standards and values embodied in the life of Irv Merritt.


2016 Award Recipients
Irv Merritt 2016 - Craig BauerCraig Bauer, Indy Aquatic Masters – Originally from Missouri, Craig moved to Indianapolis in 1998 and became active in Masters swimming. A member of the 2002 national-record setting 45+Men 200yd medley relay at Y-Nationals in Fort Lauderdale, Craig loves to be in the water. His welcoming style and helpfulness made Craig a favorite on deck coaching for Indy Aquatic Masters. If not coaching, Craig could often be found behind a camera taking pictures at local and national Masters meets. Craig’s fun and positive disposition brightened early morning practices for his swimmers. As he moves into retirement, he will definitely be missed.

Irv Merritt Michael CarlsonMichael Carlson, Munster Masters Association – A highly competitive athlete, Mike Carlson hold several State records and is a member of the USMS All American SCY Men’s 400 Freestyle Relay (35+) team.  Away from the pool, Mike’s efforts are just as strong. He has been involved with the GRIN By-laws committee, helped the Munster Masters Association smoothly transition into a joint partnership with the Munster Swim Club, serves as the Administrative Chair for Munster Masters Association, and is now the GRIN Vice-Chair.  Mike has helped every kind of swimmer at every age level and sets a great example for others through his commitment to our sport and his encouragement of others.


Past Recipients

2015 – Chris Sikich and Matt Lee

2014 – Rachel Sitarz

2013 – Lisa Brown

2012 – Kris Houchens and Richard Smith

2011 – Steve Jones

2010 – Adam Dawkins

2009 – David Costill

2008 – Lisa Whitaker

2007 – Bill Ramos

2006 – Randy Crutchfield and Michael Bernstein

2005 – Nan StagerJoel Stager, and Jim Lewis

2004 – Cheryl GettelfingerMelissa Rinker, and Melanie Watson

2003 – John Ford

2002 – Dick Sidner

2001 – Barbara Larsen

2000 – Susan Meyers

1999 – Dave Oplinger

1998 – Sharon Wise and George Quigley

1997 – Doc Counsilman and Sandy Etnyre

1996 – Cindy Miller and Doug Strong

1995 – Carol Hall and Buddy Collins

1994 – Kate Brazil and John Maxwell

1993 – Mel Goldstein

1992 – Chuck & Etha Sommer and David Woods

1991 – Margie Heineman

1990 – Dave Tanner

1989 – Doug Church

1988 – Mary Ann Stevens

1987 – John & Joan Diercks

1986 – Beets Calabrese



One Response

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: